Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    Santander, Spain

    September 11, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 72 °F

    Today was only a 20km day! It feels like a day off!
    Our walk- Wonderful! Beach view that we saw for hours and never got enough! Another long walk on the beach.
    Yes, more jinglely bits. A middle aged+ couple arrived, shed their bother-some suits and jumped in. Such freedom!
    We have found where all those lovely grasses with the white plume comes from. We walked through a ‘forest’ of them! The mother load!!
    Then another ferry to cross to Santander, Spain.
    A quick bite and glass of wine with Natalie as she must return home to Belgium today in a few hours.
    Then off to the bus station to buy bus tickets. In order to catch our plane on the 4th AND see some of Santiago de Compostela we must leave a two 30km days not walked. That still leaves a bit less then 600km to go.
    Bus tickets purchased we headed for a cathedral. 7 blocks along, a young man was following us speaking Spanish to me, pointing at his phone. No I didn’t know where he could charge his phone. I don’t speak Spanish. The young man went on pointing at the charging end of his phone. I really tried to ‘blow him off’. He pressed on looking very frustrated.
    Natalie said she remembered him from the bus station. We should stop and find out what’s going on.
    A young women stopped in to explain in English that one of us had left their phone at the ticket office and he had turned it in to the ticket lady. ME! My phone!
    I felt horrible!! I thanked him and thanked him!
    What an angel!!! As we rushed back to get my phone which was right with the ticket lady. Tammy mentioned that if I had quit speaking Spanish to him it might have gone better.
    Geez!!! I lose my phone. I am unaware of what language I am speaking. Natalie has been calling me ‘Lost Holly’ in her French Belgium accent. I am definitely in the first stages of a El Camino break down. I am losing it!! Only 11 days in.
    And we are a bit sad. Natalie left for her flight.
    She is a directional genius and so funny! Great stores, wonderful personality. I miss her already. Safe flight Natalie! Hugs
    ……and then we had to move rooms due to a leak in the roof….. grab your back packs, documents and chargers….. make a new bed. - mine is a top bunk of course! Cool down this room with an open windows and good night!. Sleep tight..
    Read more