Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 22

    Muros de Nalon,Spain

    September 18, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 64 °F

    Today was a rather introspective day. I may cover that, May not.
    22.8km flat or straight up and some decent descents.
    Heading out this morning looking for the Shells in town to mark the way. We came upon an open church. As we left the beautiful church a very nice man asked if we were in the Camino pointed us in the right direction with a ‘Buen Camino’ and a smile. Over these many days that has happened a wonderfully perfect times: a woman putting out trash or a clerk opening their shop have called out and given directions, pointing and gesturing or walking with us until they are happy they have set us in the right direction.
    Today we started out with rain and dirt/muddy roads. Then traveled in sun sun and on paved roads. We walked beside pastures and through villages. We can hear traffic at times. Sometimes we are on the road. At times no shoulders. Yikes!!
    We had 2 ‘caffee’ stops today. Each time they proprietress gave us our drinks then brought out cake, bread with meat, or bread with cheese etc. .Not a lot but apparently in this part of Spain you eat when you drink anything. I love it. I can’t eat it, but I love it! 😃
    We have ended at a spot for the night with a Horrio as its symbol. I am admittedly a ‘bit’ obsessed with these historical / still used family: household grain storages. I finally had to promise I would quit pointing out every single one. Tammy might have gagged me. 😂. So sorry for you- I re-entered a few photos in case you missed them.
    Read more