Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    Aviles, Spain

    September 17, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 79 °F

    25km walk today. We started with a 6€ Buffet breakfast. They even had GF toast and lots of fruit and eggs. Great start!
    Walking out of Gijon takes quite awhile. We have left the beaches and are in the pastures and forests again. We had decent ups but mostly flat. And some industrial areas that just weren’t photo worthy, at all! And stinky. Uck!
    There were only one place to stop for coffee, water or food. So for the most part it was another banana, chocolate, almonds and water day.
    We have arrived in Avilas, Spain! We have enough energy to really walk around so we are off!!
    Apperantly, they don’t believe in serving drink without food here, we are being told, Hurray hungry us!
    No chips or simply some bread. We get bread with Jamon ( ham) or torte, in this case potatoes and eggs sliced from a pie shape. Great folks! Beautiful town. The architecture and the history just pull me in! This town just pulls at me.
    We slipped into an open church. and were enthralled by its art and presence. . I sat down and I got tears in my eyes actually, they were flowing., I had no idea where they were coming from…. something about this church just hit me.
    Tomorrow we are off to Muros de Nalon. 22km
    Up down, up down, I will try not to bore.
    Hope you are all well!!
    Read more