Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 28

    Abadin,Spain

    September 24, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 73 °F

    We started off the day with longsleeve shirts and coats with the hoods up. At least mine was. The temperature. was chilly. Soon the hood was off. Then the jacket came off and within minutes a long sleeve shirt came off. We were down to T-shirts. I looked at my watch. Only a half hour had gone by. The temperature had not risen. We were already climbing and we were hot..
    We walked with a couple who had met on this Camino, for a while and just walking and talking about food, and that this was a difficult Camino and their first. Thinking after we parted I really haven’t mentioned the people that you just get to meet as you walk along. Or as you’re having a coffee in a café. For example we met a woman named Ingrid, who is off to finishing a Camino, and then on volunteer at an Alburgue to allow the owners a break. Ingrid is the person that told us not to miss the Playa de Catedrias that we visited a few days ago. :-)
    After finding a cafe for coffee and a tortilla ( egg and potatoes dish) passing a small Chapel on the road. We came upon a beautiful church. We passed pastures so green you would think you were in Ireland. The coast and mountains of this region of Spain is incredibly green!
    The winds/breezes were good! The temperature perfect! What a great day!
    Smiles on our faces we started the climb, thinking it’s no worse than anything we’ve climbed before. We’ve got this!
    Holy cow! . This UP just did not end. It kicked my tush, This gravel dirt mountain road just went up for almost 2 hours.. No switch backs just up. Up turn a corner and UP more. Not gentle. Did I say this? … Just UP.
    Before we started up we had discussed how being a pilgrim centuries ago could earn one time off in purgatory ( kinda of a waiting room for heaven where you get to suffer first - yeah, I never like the concept much as a kid either) .
    After today, I think I not only earned my way out of Purgatory but I am pretty sure I have 2 extra free passes.
    Unless, I used up the passes whenever I crested a horrible hill, saw another huge hill and used the ‘F’ bomb. There were many false ends to this climb today and many times my mother would’ve washed my mouth with soap.
    I have on my watch 156 flights of stairs as the equivalent of the climb. Tammy, has more then 170 flights of stairs climbed showing on her watch. As we were walking the same climb, I am fairly certain she never cut back down the mountain to add more flights .😆
    I need to figure out why my watch isn’t indicating all my flights. I want to gold star at the end of the day too. Lol.
    *********
    We are staying in a Alburgue with a Hotel option. $29.99/night each for our room. We scored again! Thank you Tammy! Another great find!!
    Read more