Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 27

    Lourenza’, Spain

    September 23, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 72 °F

    We just finished but the day. It’s 4:30pm. We started at 8:00am to get daylight. . 28.6km It started off very cool. Sun the jacket went in the park. Then s as we started up the long leaved shirt went in the pack. Soon it was sunglasses and a sun hat for me.

    We are in Lourenza’., Spain.

    We started this journey in Basque Country/region then Cantabrian region, the Asturian region now we are in the Galacian region ( the ‘c’ still has a ‘th’ sound.
    Juice was jugo, then zumo, we will see what it is here in Galatia. 😊. Each area’s dialect has been a bit different. I love it! Can’t speak it but love it! I get by with the Spanish I know. Most big towns the employees know more English. In the smaller towns the younger might use Google translate to help with ordering food, etc. 👍😊 Brilliant!
    I am waiting my turn to shower. ,
    We are in a room that is a bit of a basement apartment with a cottage door where you can open just the top half of you like. It’s really sweet.
    Time for showers, Laury then find food to pack for tomorrow. No services anywhere. And another 27.2km day
    Hiking was forest roads going up and down with a few hard ups. We can across cemeteries and wayside chapels. The villages in all the green in the distance can’t be done justice in photos with my phone camera. It’s a pity. The whole day was a treat for the eyes.
    We headed out to see the incredible Monastery on the plaza. I have several photos. I have tried to dwindle them down. Gorgeous!! Oh look where the organ pipes are! Far of the church floor. Amazing!
    Read more