Satellite
Show on map
  • Passing through Pamplona

    August 28, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 20 °C

    Awwww ... that is the sound of relief, the sound of me breathing in the fresh air and the feeling of peace. Now this is the Spain I remember. It was great to experience Madrid, but it was great to leave. It was too busy, too touristy, too hot, and too loud. But, the people I met were nice.

    I left Madrid this morning on a 3 hour train ride to Pamplona. It was pretty smooth getting to the train and seated. Now I could just relax and finish listening to the book I started in Canada. It is called It’s OK that You’re Not OK by Megan Devine. It is a good book to help me understand my grief and learn to carry it. I am sure I will refer to it and talk about it though my camino, but today I will just let it sink in and absorb it.

    When I arrived in Pamplona, the albergue was easy to find. I settled in and decided to go look for some food before I showered and settled in for the night. I then happened upon the same plaza I was in with Joerg 14 years ago. I could see it plain as day, him in his blue shirt and sandals with his new German friends. I just stood in that spot, closed my eyes, outstretched my arms and breathed. I just wanted to feel him.

    I also came across a great equipment store for everything camino. I went in and got myself a new set of Leki hiking poles. I am quite excited as my last ones are over 15 years old. I can see the difference, I think they will be perfect.

    I have already met a few people who are scheduled on the bus with me tomorrow to SJPDP. Once I arrive in SJPDP tomorrow the journey will begin. I am so glad I did take those extra days in Madrid before starting. It helped me sort out the logistics of my backpack and tackle the majority of my jet lag. I am feeling quite refreshed today and I think I will be on a somewhat normal schedule now.

    Ok, time to finish my Bocadillo and then settle in for the night. I can sleep in as the bus does not leave until noon, but it will be nice to still get to bed early with the pilgrims now.

    TTYL
    Read more