Satellite
Show on map
  • Saint Jean Pied de Port

    August 29, 2023 in France ⋅ ☁️ 20 °C

    Well, my first negative experience happened last night. I went to bed early at 9:00pm and slept until 1:30am. After that time, I couldn’t get back to sleep so I went downstairs in the hostel and played on my phone. I went back to bed around 3:30am and was suddenly woken up at 4:30am with someone grabbing my leg. It was the guy in the bunk bed across from me. He said something and I thought, oh, he just thought I was someone else by accident and when I didn’t respond he said it again, “you have been snoring all night long”. I was now half awake and I said “yeah, so, what do you think I can do about it?” He didn’t say anything and went back to bed. I didn’t go back to sleep after that. One because I was worried I was keeping others awake, and two because I was going over and over in my head what I am going to say to him in the morning. The irony is that when he fell asleep, he snored! I recorded it and thought I would play it for him.

    So morning came and he was out of bed. I was on my phone, probably scrolling facebook and he said good morning, and I didn’t respond, he said it again, I didn’t respond and just kept looking at my phone and ignoring him. He went away and came back in about 15 minutes and said good morning again and I answered “is it?” He said “yes it is morning”, and I replied “is it good? You woke me up in the middle of the night”. He acknowledged that I haven’t been back to sleep since. He apologized and said that he only did that because when he snores, his partner elbows him and the change of position helps. I know that was bull, he did it because I was keeping him awake. In any case, you don’t touch a complete stranger, if he wanted to wake me, he could say something to me to wake me, not grab my leg. He was German speaking, but I don’t know where from.

    Well, after that, I took my time to get out of bed. I didn’t need to get to the bus station until noon. The bus ride was nice. I sat beside a woman from Australia doing her first camino. The scenery was breathtaking but the winding roads reminded me of the road to Tofino and was glad when we arrived.

    My first stop was the pilgrim office to get my stamp. After that, I went to look at the hostel where Joerg and I stayed. I am sure I have told this story before, but it was full of cats and dogs and stunk so bad. But also, it was where he put his arm around me on the bench outside. It now has a table and chairs, go figure after 14 years the bench isn’t still there. Everything else was the same. In fact, when I was taking photos and video of the place, a cat was jumping up on a screen (watch the video closely, it cracks me up when I see the cat dangling. It was just perfect!

    I met up with Kriste from New Hampshire. I had met her through the Facebook group CAMIGA. We had a drink together and then met up again to go to the grocery store. I will probably not see her again as she is going straight through to Roncesvalles. I think most of the people I meet these first few days I won’t see again because I am taking it slow at first.

    I checked into the hostel which is run by Josef. He bought it about 10 years ago, and I told him I stayed 14 years ago in the same room.

    I then went for a walkabout. I went to places Jörg and I were together, where we had coffee, where we had dinner, and the bridge where we started the camino. It was emotional and I shed some tears. He loved this town and because he was here a couple days before me, he really had a chance to explore it. My emotions always take me back to the same place, he should be here with me. I often ask myself, “What am I doing here? What am I doing here without him?” I think I will eventually start feeling somewhat different once I start walking. My thoughts will be consumed with my aches and pains and the challenges of daily living.

    Dinner at the albergue was delicious. There were about 18 of us. Josef had some activities for us to do to get to know each other. One of them was to throw an imaginary ball at people and when you caught it, you would say in just 3 or 4 words of a book title if you were to write it about this upcoming camino. Mine was Love Lives On. Afterwards, he said we had time for a couple people if they want to explain their title. There weren’t any volunteers, so I decided to share and told the story of Joerg and I (the short version). I thought that with this group it would be easier than the awkward pause when I tell each person.

    Now it’s time for bed.

    TTYL

    Throwback to 2009 from Julie’s Journal

    I am sitting in my bunk right now with Joerg in the bunk above me, shirtless and in his shorts. It is taking everything I have not to fantasize.

    I woke up at 3 in the morning and couldn’t get back to sleep. I had gone to bed at 8pm so I think I had enough sleep considering. I needed to catch a 7:35 train this morning from Barcelona to Pamplona so I headed out early and arrived at the train station by 7am. The train ride was good, but my mind was only on one thing “What will happen at 6:00pm tonight?”

    I arrived at 6 p.m. (as planned) in SJPDP and Joerg was there waiting for me. When I got out of the van I headed straight for him and we had our big hug. It felt so nice to be in his arms. A few times through the day he put his arms around me again. There is more … I can feel it … I think there will be a kiss soon.

    On that note, I am going to sleep. Joerg had suggested we have a picnic lunch tomorrow. It would be perfect if it ends in a kiss.

    The next day from Julie’s Journal

    I slept in today until 9:30. I woke up a couple of times for the washroom and allergies. This whole hostel smells of cats and dogs. They are everywhere. I am glad I am staying at L’esprit hostel tonight. I have checked in and they had a name tag and mint on my pillow.

    Joerg and I walked around town today. We had a picnic breakfast because I was so late getting up. I am currently sitting outside Joerg’s hostel. His window is open so I am looking at him sleep in the afternoon. He is much more affectionate with me, sometimes putting his arm around me. We didn’t kiss today, but before the end of this trip, I am pretty sure we will.

    After dinner I went out and sat with Joerg on the bench of the hostel and shared our red wine with a couple other German guys who are riding their bikes on the Camino. While sitting on the bench, Joerg put his arm around me (on the bench) but you know it was on purpose. We finally went in at 10:30 … to my surprise, my hostel was locked up and closed. I knocked lightly for about 5 minutes and finally Karsten came and answered the door … Thank God!! My next step would have been to go sleep with Joerg - which I guess wouldn’t be so bad :-)
    Read more