Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 20 - Burgos to Rabe de las Calzadas

    September 18, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 20 °C

    Today was a nice, calm easy day with a 13km walk on my first day in the Meseta. It was sun and clouds with a breeze so no major sweat happening. The sky was huge with lots of white fluffy clouds, Jörg would have loved this weather day.

    I woke up around 8am. I took my time and really organized my bag. I know it is too heavy, I don’t feel it, but I know it can’t be good for my feet. Luckily I think I have lost weight off my body as it is hard to keep my shorts from falling down, so that is already less weight on the feet.

    I finally made the decision to ditch the sleeping bag. I have not used it yet and it takes up so much space. I have a liner with me and I have never been cold. I know it will get colder, but the albergues often offer blankets and if not, then I will just wear more clothes to sleep in. Let’s see, I may regret that decision.

    I also decided to cut the pages out of my guide book that I have already read. Surprisingly, I feel the difference in the weight.

    After getting all packed, I headed out to find a bank machine and then by 10am, I was at the outdoor store. They had some injinji socks so I bought a couple pair more. I really hope they continue to help keep the blisters away. I just have one blister on one of my baby toes that refuses to go down without a fight.

    Today I passed the 500km left to go mark, done 300km so that feels good … almost halfway!

    I enjoy this town that I am staying in. Again, I am staying in the same albergue as Jörg and I did in 2009. I am not really doing it on purpose, but when there is opportunity to do it, I will.

    Ok, dinner is at 6pm here at the albergue so I will sign off now.

    TTYL
    Read more