Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 28 - León - Rest Day

    September 26, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 26 °C

    Well, the planning has started. I started to put together a tentative plan of where I will stay and reserve a few beds and it is really hard to believe that I have just over 300kms and only 2 weeks left. If I go according to my schedule (and it could easily change), then I would arrive in Santiago on October 12th. That would be perfect timing for me. I would spend a few days there, go to Finistere for a day and then make my way to Germany in time for Bärbel’s birthday.

    So it was wonderful last night. I arrived in Leon and the albergue around 5:15pm. I showered, changed and was ready to go out the door. I met Christina and Kangmi at the Cathedral. We toured inside the cathedral and then went for sangrias. Dinner in Spain doesn’t start until 8-8:30pm, so it was a long wait for food. It was worth it. We ordered a few dishes to share including a salad, cured meat platter and croquettes (my new favourite food!). These croquettes were filled with blue cheese.

    We finished dinner around 10:30 and we all headed in different directions for our beds. It was definitely worth missing the 18km and spending the 2 Euros for the bus to see them. Christina is off again this morning. Will still be a day ahead, but if I don’t catch up, I am sure I will see her in Santiago. I am making plans to try and see her in Denmark before I head home.

    Today I didn’t get out of bed until 10:00am, and even then, I sat around in my sleep clothes until 11 and finally said it was time to go outside. I did a little shopping but didn’t really find what I was looking for but it wasn’t anything urgent.

    I spoke with Maximilian today to have him help me with my cell phone. I have voicemail but wasn’t sure how to get into it as the instructions were in German. He helped me sort it out.

    Now I am just heading out again (stores open again at 5:30) to try and find some yoga pants or leggings so I have in case of cold evenings.

    TTYL

    Throwback to 2009 Julie’s Journal

    Ok, the last words I heard before sleep was Joerg looking into my eyes, smiling and saying “beautiful” Can there be anything better??
    Read more