Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 29 - León to San Martín - 26km

    September 27, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 26 °C

    I was off early today. I figured today I could leave early (before sunrise) because the first 8-10km will be through city streets and highway. By the time I was out the door, it was about 7:15am.

    Well, the sunrise today was magnificent (as you can see by all the pictures I took). The timing was perfect when I was a little on the outskirts of the city to see this.

    I did 26km today. It was mostly walking a path beside the busy highway so on went my headset again. I listened to CCR and Bruce Springsteen, pretty safe listening, no major love songs!

    I didn’t have a reservation in this town so I wasn’t sure if I was going to get a bed. The next town is another 6.5kms. The first two albergues I approached were full but I lucked out on the third one. It had beds in the dorm and a private room. The private room was only 25 Euros so I opted for it. I have the next two nights reserved and they are dorm beds, so I might as well enjoy the privacy while I can. I looked up the reviews of this place and they all look great.

    There is an evening meal here at 7pm so just relaxing until then. I am not even gonna bother to explore the town. I don’t think there is much here.

    Tomorrow’s walk will start for 6km along the highway, but that will be it for the highway walking. It will be back to hills and paths. In 3 days is the big climb up the mountain to Cruz de Farro. This is where everyone leaves their rocks from home. I am looking forward to that, I have brought a couple rocks from home, but will tell you all about it on that day.

    Ok, I am signing off and going back to relaxing!

    TTYL
    Read more