Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 36 - La Portela to O Cebreiro - 14km

    October 4, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 23 °C

    I am sitting on top of a mountain, literally! I am sitting outside my albergue looking at breathtaking views. It was only a 14km hike today but it was all uphill, and 8kms of it was steep. I am in O Cebreiro for the night and it is at an elevation of 1330m.

    I woke up at 7am ready for an 8am take off, but to my surprise, David, the owner of the the albergue was making us Churros with chocolate for breakfast. I don’t think I have ever had one before. It was delicious and very kind. With my belly full, I was off at 8:30am. The day was a beautiful sunny day again. The walk up first takes you through a few cute villages and then starts on a track path, full of mud and cow dung. Man were there flies everywhere. That part wasn’t so pleasant, but I still enjoyed it as it was real hiking.

    The second half was a little easier terrain with mostly dirt and rocks, but there was no tree shelter. I found a shrub once and kind of rested behind it, but really, mostly sun exposed for the afternoon. I arrived at the top around 2:00pm, just in time to be greeted with a bus load of German tourists. This is a wonderful spot and I can understand why tour busses would come up here. There are views almost 360 degrees around. I am really looking forward to the sunset tonight, and then the sunrise in the morning.

    The hike itself was pretty tough, but I took it at a slow and steady pace. I really wasn’t tired until about the last 30 minutes. It was around that time, where we officially leave Castilla Y Leon and enter Galicia. I love that, when you enter Galicia, then you know the end is close. My app says there is 152kms left and the trail signs say about 159km left, I will go by my app thank you.

    Tomorrow is mostly down. I have booked a private room to treat myself so there is no rush to get off in the morning. I can sit and enjoy the views, that is if there isn’t a fog, and if there is, then that will be fun in itself.

    TTYL
    Read more