Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 37 - O Cebreiro to Fillobal - 17km

    October 5, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 25 °C

    I started the day by coming out at 7:00am to see the stars. Cassiopeia was right in front of me. I don’t think many of you know the significance of Cassiopeia for Jörg and I so I will fill you in now.

    About a month after we met in Nashville, Jörg and I travelled together for a week in my car visiting the national parks of southern Utah including Zion, Arches, Canyonlands, etc. We ended the week visiting the Grand Canyon together. Well, the first day of the trip, we were in Zion. I actually had a tent so we camped together. I forget at what point in the evening (I think in the middle of the night), I pointed out to Jörg the constellation Cassiopeia (it is the W shape set of stars). It is the only one I know (well except for the Big Dipper) and learned it from the movie “The sure thing” in the 80s.

    Well, throughout the week, we would always look to the sky in the evening and I would point it out. On the last night we were together before he left to go home to Germany, we were up at 4am and we both went out of the motel room to look outside for it but it was cloudy. Throughout the years we joked about it whenever we had a chance to look at the stars. I feel he is now in those stars watching over me.

    Today was lovely. Coming downhill from O Cebreiro is nothing like coming down from Cruz de Ferro. It is quite pleasant, the path is mostly smooth but steep in some places. I hiked the day with Jenna. She is off to Triacastela (another 3.7km) today so we separated and will probably see each other again in Santiago.

    The town I am in is still on the mountain, about 2/3rds of the way down. I have a private room today and it is beautiful. I am sitting in my room, waiting for my laundry to dry, then I will venture out and just sit and enjoy the view for the rest of the day. My friends Nadine and Jacqueline are here (from Belgium) so I am sure we will have a nice visit.

    TTYL
    Read more