Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 22

    Jummah & Lunch

    April 3, 2015 in Turkey ⋅ ⛅ 13 °C

    As I came out of the bazaar I was greeted with the adhaan for Jummah salah coming from the grand Nuruosmaniye Mosque before me. I quickly made wudu in the courtyard before stumbling in. Stunning. The khutbah was in Turkish. I was in the 3rd row and before I knew it I looked back and the whole mosque was full. The recitation was beautiful.

    After salah I left to find my way to the restaurant recommended to me by the hotel receptionist by the Roman aqua duct. I found a nice sheesha place on the way and yet another even grander mosque (Shezade Cami) which I entered.

    The dish recommended to me was called Perde Pilavi, essentially a block of rice and chicken held together with pastry to look like an upside down cake. Had that with Ayran yoghurt drink.

    By the time I got back I was shattered so although it was early I knocked out.
    Read more