Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 27

    The European Side

    April 8, 2015 in Turkey ⋅ ⛅ 6 °C

    After checking out I made my way to the European side. The walk was long and tiring and I'm sure the Grand Hotel Palmiye wasn't where it was advertised to me but further along. Had tea whilst waiting for the room to be ready. It was tiny! The TV didn't work (not a bigs) and the shower needed some sellotape but got there in the end. Skype call and some TripAdvisor prowling later I made my way out into this more modern side, with its long, narrow and steep streets all eventually connecting up to the main tram line street which cuts through Beyoglu.

    First stop: a quaint tobacco cafe on the first floor with windows which open out to give a more terracey feel. With some help I chose my tobacco and rolled up before sitting down for some tea (all on the house). With the sun streaming in and the owners cat purring in my lap I basked thoughtlessly for a timeless while.

    Eventually, the thought of all there is to do today called me back to the moment. Thanking the owner I clambered down the stairs (feeling very old and stiff) and made my way towards Taksim square. Looking back now it's as if the majority of people out were young adults.

    The new generation of Taksim seem to have for the most part completely embraced western thought and culture and shed their roots without guilt. They are in many ways rapidly westernising to the point I think they may end up outdoing them at their own game!
    Read more