Satellite
Show on map
  • Festival of Colours '17

    March 12, 2017 in India ⋅ 🌙 27 °C

    What is it about the way Indians celebrate Holi and Diwali that entices the entire world! And while Diwali is amazing in it's own right, Holi is where the fun and colours of life are associated.
    There is something in the way kids dump colours on each other and on unsuspecting elders that has caught the fancy of a nation. And why just colours? Look a little wider, and as soon as the colours are done, people turn to mud, earth and anything, just for an excuse to have fun!
    And of course the snobs. Those who love playing but has to give an earful to others about the dangers of synthetic colours. "No No, I toh don't play Holi only! My nah skin is allergic to colours. I use only real Ayurvedic colours!" And so saying, proceed to take out the same colours from an expensive container and smear them. And without saying, the Touch-me-nots. Those who put up a shrill fight as soon as someone comes near them with colour. "Oh my God! My face! My beauty." And the guys, who play with everything, but colour! Don't even guess what they do play with!

    Nevertheless, the culture and traditions associated with Holi has continued if not thriven which is why people still burn a bonfire for Holika Dahon on Holi Eve.
    Cheers to it continuing through lifetimes more. HOLI HAI!
    Read more