Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 46

    A monastery followed by - cold rain

    June 6, 2018 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 12 °C

    Today started with a tour of the Monastery of Oseira- a huge pile currently under restoration. From the outside it looks dark, dank and foreboding but the interior has a few beautiful surprises. My favourites were the lovely statute - the Virgen of the Milk (no surprise what she is doing) and the palm tree room - four wonderful slender twisted columns supporting the roof; full of movement. I don’t know the date of the room (the monastery was built in 1137 but it was enlarged and partly rebuilt following a fire in 1552). The room reminded me very strongly of Gaudí, who apparently visited and was impressed.

    Following a taxi ride back to the Camino it was a day of head down and trudge through rain, mud, cold and overhanging wet vegetation. When I hit the main road, up popped a bus with bus just arriving. When St James offers, I accept!
    Read more