Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    History, art and food

    October 19, 2018 in Portugal ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    Here I am in Santarém, with a humongous blister on my foot, having a lovely time sitting in the plaza drinking fiercely strong Portuguese coffee...waiting for the Cathedral to open.

    The pastry shops in this town are just amazing. One small almond tart (a “celestial”, and it was), I could not resist.

    I love the blue tiled art works on railway stations and other public buildings - a great way of teaching as well as bewitching the eye.

    The cathedral was lovely. A great painted ceiling. I also visited some very nice churches. And a museum with a few things that amused me.

    My time being short and not wanting to destroy the rest of the walk with a serious injury, today I took the train.
    Read more