Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    Day 17: Lucena

    March 4, 2017 in Spain ⋅ 🌧 9 °C

    Still hibernating thanks to very crappy weather - lots of wind and rain. Ventured out at lunchtime to visit the supermarket for more supplies. Extremely crowded since it was Saturday lunchtime and it took way longer than I wanted. Also managed to visit an ATM (got soaked en route), then headed to the pizza shop from last night to pay for our food. The man wasn't there, but I google translated "I need to pay for my food from last night, I bought two pizzas" and mangled the phrase, one of the workers knew what I was talking about. They asked if I was Mexican - I guess my skin is olive enough to not stand out as English, but my accent is clearly not Spanish!

    Back home where we hibernated the rest of the day, and organised the next couple of weeks. Our hosts return on Tuesday the 7th, and we'll return the car to Malaga on the south coast. On that date we'll pick up another car and stay at a few various places around the south and centre of Spain, then return that hire car in Madrid in late-ish March.

    We're planning to drive a fair bit more than we expected, since the trains aren't super cheap and often aren't as convenient as we thought. Travelling with Schnitzel is fine, but the trains just don't go to some places, and if we travelled by bus we'd need to put him in the cargo hold!
    Read more