Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 63

    I'm on a horse

    July 7, 2018 in Bulgaria ⋅ ☁️ 15 °C

    I hope you all remember the epic commercial from 'Old spice'? :D That's exactly how I felt today!
    Hint for those who can't: https://youtu.be/VX5au0LOJp8

    After climbing further 10km up the hill on that sunny morning, I met 'Butch', real name Ognyan, whos owning around 20 horses on his little farm. Some more of his horses are living wildly in the mountains. He has a unique attitude towards nature and knows the mountains like no other. He invited me for coffee, self made herbal tea with self made honey from special pine trees. It felt, as if theres was another time zone, a slower one. The horses are well trained and strong and the film 'Vikings' and many others have been produced with his horses.

    I decided to try a tour on a horseback. Was a bit unsure if it might be counterproductive for my back but it turned out to be supportive.

    So, we rode a tour trough the forest and steep ski slopes. Fantastic experience and sceneries and I can only agree with with the other peoples feedback to it. If you're ever here try: http://www.horse-riding-bg.com

    Also, we were really lucky with the weather as it startet to rain as we returned. I just made it to my apartment when weather turned into apocalyptic thunderstorm and electricity went down for a while.

    During afternoon, I prepared for hiking to the top tomorrow and hoping for good enough weather!
    Read more