Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 71

    Botev Peak (2376m)

    July 15, 2018 in Bulgaria ⋅ ⛅ 9 °C

    2376 m above sea level, Botev is the tallest peak in Stara Planina in the national park “Central Balkan”. "Balkan" is named by this mountain.

    After a windy night in the tent, I got up early and hiked up to the top. It got pretty foggy and the wind blew icy. The path varied from rocky climbs to a path in flower fields and was breathtaking in all meanings. It took me around 3hours to the top and then 7hours back to Kalofer. Including breaks I was hiking for 11,5 hours and unfortunately missed the path to the right valley because in the end, I followed a path to the neighboring valley. So, another walk and a hitchhike with Peter and Ivan to the city to get a cab/taxi. In a restaurant, it was impossible to find a driver even though the waitress tried, so I watched the first half of the final there, got to know some other hikers, had a beer with them and their drove me to my car during the break.

    I watched the rest of the second half with Peter and Ivan in a hut, another beer and was soo tired but happy to finally go to my apartment and only sleeeeeep.
    Read more