Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    The Truth about Death Valley

    March 26, 2021 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 70 °F

    Death Valley National Park; not what I expected. There are no cactus or trees or anything. So the campsites are really parking lots. No showers although they did have running water. And the wind!!! It blows almost constantly at 25 to 35 miles per hr. The first time on this trip that it was warm enough to set up my chair and cook outside and I gave up the idea very quickly.

    There were no cacti. So no flowers. Everything is BROWN and every shade of brown. The landscape is interesting and lots of different formations. But between the wind and no dog friendly hikes and the crowds (lots of people) i decided one night was plenty.

    I set a destination for Red Rock state park , but when I checked to make reservations, there were none. Planning will be important on my summer trips....which will be a challenge as I am not much of a planner. So I just had to keep going...

    Spent another night at a Pilot outside Havusu City, AZ. Decided I prefer Reststops to Truck stops but it was fine.
    Read more