Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 82

    Devils Tower & Black Hills

    August 25, 2021 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 68 °F

    Devils Tower was pretty impressive. Jay got to play service dog so she could hike around the tower with me. I was glad we went early. The parking lot was full when we were done hiking.

    I finally bought a NP Passport book. Should have done it when I first started visiting all the parks. Also picked up a Bark Ranger medallion for Jay. It was kind of an expensive souvenir day. I don't know if I will continue to collect the patches from all the parks. Stickers & tokens would be cheaper, take up less room. Will I really do something with the patches eventually????

    I also stopped at the West Texas Trail Museum. Had to see a Texas museum in WY. Turns out the Texas Cattle Drives went through here on their way to Canada 🇨🇦. The museum was free and contained lots of old memorabilia from back then.

    Crossed into SD and stopped at a visitor center/rest stop. Lovely reststop but SD does not allow overnight parking. The sign said overnight parking was illegal on the interstate which is BS as it is not illegal in most states. WTF SD & WY!!! Anyway the women at the visitor center was helpful. BUT none of the brochures or information mentions or shows the USFS camping available. I guess they was tourists to spend more $$$$.

    I found a lovely site in the ......campground at about 5pm. Which allowed me to spend a little time trying to organize some stuff. If I really stick with Van Life, I think I will have to get a bigger rig. In the middle of trying to organize I suddenly became so so tired.. but after laying down , Jay started growling and seemed worried. And then I couldn't sleep. So ....here I am doing my Journaling.
    Read more