Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 84

    Lots to See in South Dakota

    August 27, 2021 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 73 °F

    What a busy day!

    Headed to the Badlands in the morning. On the way, there were billboards evey mile or so for Wall Drugs. It was a Must See Attraction in the little town of Wall. It was actually mote of a mall that had grown out of a drugstore. It was about a city block long. They did have a camping goods store and I bought a flyswatter (cause there is constantly at least 1 fly annoying me while driving or relaxing in Vanette), a small purple backpack and a small salt & pepper shaker.

    Then onto the Badlands. Jay wore her service dog vest and we did a couple of short walks. BUT as we were walking, I suddenly saw a huge long horn sheep sitting just ahead of us. It was so still I thought it was a statue...but then it saw Jay and stood up. IT DID NOT LOOK FRIENDLY! We slowly backed away. The rest of the tour was a driving tour!

    Next we went to Mount Rushmore. It was interesting and we got a little exercise without wild animal threats. I was not all that impressed. It was smaller than I expected and not all that detailed. Could barely tell who was who.

    So...headed south with no plan or idea where I would spend the night. I stopped at a FS Campground, they had 1 spot left.....but $30 for a site without any water & only a pit toilet, surrounded by RVs just didn't seem worth it. So I drove on.

    It was already after 6 when I got to the Crazy Horse Memorial. They were still open and who knows when I might be back. I'm so gladi stopped. It is much larger than Rushmore and the detail is so much better. It may take another 50 to 100 years to finish it but the story is intriguing and the movie, visitor center are wonderful. The have a restaurant but it closes at 6:30 so I can't say if it is any good. I stayed for the veteran's memorial service and then the laser light show. The show wasn't all that good but the music was lovely.

    I hit the road at 9pm and found a truckstop to sleep at.

    Quite a day
    Read more