Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Day 7 in Phoenix

    January 19, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 52 °F

    I've had a great time visiting with Bev for a week. We've of course done a bunch of shopping. I'm going to need a budget category called 'Shopping with Bev'. But we always find such great stuff and have a good time. We also ate at my favorite restaurants, White Chocolate & the Persian Room.

    And I spent a bunch of time working on a travel book of our trip to Peru. It really helps to second pair of eyes.

    So my plan was to leave today and take a leisurely 3 days to make it. I was going to stop near Tucson at a couple of places Bob told me about:
    The Titan Missile Silo & Museum and the White Dove cathedral. BUT..... Instead I am sitting in an urgent care center with Bev as she fell off her horse and although we don't think she broke anything she is having trouble walking and I'd rather her get an exam & professional opinion. And have a plan before I leave.

    This is not a good omen for 2023. Last year I spent quite a few hours at urgent care centers. I think I took Jeannie once, I know I took Wendy in Galveston after she fell and then I went twice: once for a dog bite and once for a broken ankle. I wonder if it is just something to expect with aging, although none of the issues were age related.
    Read more