Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Indian Bread Rocks Happy Campground

    January 19, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 39 °F

    It was late and dark by the time I got to the exit for Indian Bread Rocks Recreation Area. I figured it would be nicer than a truck stop or rest area. I was a little apprehensive as I was driving further and further down an unpaved road. And there were no cars and no lights or anything.....but the road was actually one of the nicest, well maintained unpaved roads I've been on. Turns out it is actually a BLM camping area and it seemed like I was the only one there. It was late and cold so I warmed up my dinner and settled in for the night. It was so so quiet and dark. I did hear & see one camper pull in about 11:30.

    It was a really cold night at least for me. I doubt it got below freezing but I stayed in my bed until the sun was up and it got a bit warmer.

    And then I got out and took a few photos. There was a large area with picnic tables, grills & fire pits and even a pit toilet. There were lots of areas to pull off and set up camp and quite a few RVs around. It was a lovely spot and I could definitely see spending a few days there.
    Read more