Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 38

    Last Day in Florida

    November 12, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 86 °F

    Tomorrow will be my last day in Florida. I will be heading to Austin on Tuesday. It's hard to believe I've been here a month. I feel like I've been in limbo or a sort of suspended animation. I've never watched so much TV ever. I did manage to see a few good shows that I had heard of:
    The Light You Cannot See was Excellent. About a blind girl in France who helped the allies by broadcasting a radio program. My dad seems to enjoy watching WW II movies. We also watched a documentary on the German Officer Rommel that was interesting.
    But I will be happy to not watch anything for awhile.

    We almost made it through the whole time without him falling....almost. Yesterday he fell in the shower. He was sitting on his shower chair and dropped something while I went to grab the towels out of the dryer. Of course he leaned over to try to pick it up and tipped the chair over and ended up lying on the floor of the shower. I couldn't possibly get him up by myself and of course couldn't locate the paper with Jim's friends #'s. And the local emergency numbers on the magnet didn't have the area codes. I'd looked at it before but didn't notice the missing numbers and of course I have no idea what the local area code is. I ended up calling Jim and luckily they were not on the plane yet. They were able to text me all the numbers. I got a hold of Jim's friend Roland who came over quickly and we were able to get him up to the wheelchair.

    I was pretty upset. Had he just waited another 6 hours I could have said "he never fell while I was taking care of him!"
    Read more