Satelital
Mostrar en el mapa
  • Día 6

    Footloose and Fancyfree ... Mostly! 😊

    19 de enero, Mexico ⋅ ☀️ 23 °C

    I discovered a separate thermostat in our bedroom! This was a fabulous discovery because I can now regulate the heat for night in our room rather than cooling down the whole condo! You'd think that would have meant I would sleep better but ... not last light! I was awakened by my overly active anxious mind recycling all the parts of the scenario when I bought some silver earrings yesterday in San José.

    It was a beautiful store ... with gorgeous handmade pieces. It was hard to decide because there were so many beautiful options! I thought I wanted ... no ... needed (😉) a certain size of hoop but settled on some dangling ones that looked kind of like screws.

    The vendors were two brothers ... slick talkers and very friendly. Once again, my spider senses were up. They were really reluctant to give me a receipt! They suggested I just put the earrings in with my other jewellery instead of declaring my purchase at Canada customs. There were a few other things they said that seemed a bit "off' to me.

    In the 1:00am range, I awoke with the fear that the shape of the earrings might be metaphorical. Maybe, just maybe, we had been screwed! I noticed the one brother was distracting me with conversation but behind his sun-glass covered eyes he was watching carefully while the old boy keyed in the PIN number on the sketchy looking Visa device! 🥸

    You are probably wondering why the old boy wasn't covering the number pad. I was wondering that exact thing TOO!! However, it doesn't FEEL or LOOK like you need to be super careful in these luxurious parts ... but ... it is still Mexico!! 🥴

    Then, once the transaction was complete the other brother opened his phone as if to check something quickly. He made pleasant conversation and we were on our way. A little later we were walking past his store and he asked "Everything good?" It seemed like such an odd thing to say. Why wouldn't everything be good???

    The story my amygdala was making up for almost three hours in the wee hours of the morning ... was that they now had our card number and PIN number and were going to place bogus charges. Should I lock the card? But then my card would be locked too. Should I call Mastercard in the morning and freeze the old boy's card only? Should I get up and check the transactions? Should I just keep an eye on the transactions? Should I ______? Or should I _____? Maybe ______? Arghhhhh! It was quite the misery while the old boy snarfled and scored comfortably beside me.

    I did check the transaction history at 2:30am. Nothing suspicious YET! I noticed that our purchase was pending! But THEN ... when I checked again at 9:00am, the pending transaction had disappeared!! So ... I LOCKED our card. Its a good thing we brought back ups!

    And then, it occurred to me that locking my card might not lock the old boy's card. So, I decided to call Mastercard before we headed out for breakfast. I was wise to call. I had locked my card but not his. After chatting with customer service I feel confident that we can still use mine, but his is locked! At least, now, any ill intentions they may have had will be thwarted. I'm going to keep my eye on things though! 🧐

    We walked 5 minutes to Baja Brewing for breakfast on the roof top!! What fabulous way of viewing the cove. The eggs Benny came highly recommended ... thank you again Sis for eliminating the guess work around where to go and what to make sure we tasted!! I ordered the benny and the old boy had the Huevos Ranchero ... and then ... we shared the great plates! Both were exceptional ... and ... so reasonably priced.

    We then ordered an Uber and visited the BIG Walmart nearby. It was fascinating to see the variety of seafood and wine options!! We came home with a few!

    It was hotter today than we had previously experienced so we had a little rest at home before we walked over to Salvadore G's for the Ammaretto/ Gargonzola/ Shrimp stuffed ravioli. All I can say about this dish is that it is worth a trip to Cabo to try it!! Absolutely phenomenal! I'm so grateful to our daughter's for recommending we head back to taste it!.My apologies ... I forgot to take a pic!

    Another blessing of going to this restaurant was meeting the people seated at the table beside us. The woman ... Estrella from Argentina ... walked the Camino de Santigo in 1999. Oh my gosh! She inspired me with her stories. She said it was HARD. Initially ... it was the physical challenge but then ... it was the emotional one. I was captivated to hear more. Fortunately, she gave me her email so I can pick her brain more! So......... Bestie .... maybe we need to get serious again?!?

    After our lovely meal ... we meandered home and are enjoying a quiet evening in our condo. I just love having down time on a vacation!!

    BTW ... we logged 12,094 steps today ... so ... we make no apologies for heading to bed at 7:45pm. I wish you all a great sleep ... and ... hope I can snooze off the stressors of this day too! 😴
    Leer más