Satelliitti
Näytä kartalla
  • Päivä 17

    Only One Thing 'To-Do" Today!

    8. toukokuuta, Espanja ⋅ ☀️ 18 °C

    Oh my ... we had the very best sleep last night! We were tucked in bed by 9:30pm (after finally breaking my losing streak with 'Clever') and didn't get up for the day until 8:30am. I was up to tinkle at 6:30am and caught the sun just beginning to cast a glow over the sea. I popped up again to check and see how it looked at 7:00am ... but then ... I snuggled back into bed for another 90 minutes.

    We have absolutely nothing to do on the agenda today ... except ONE thing that I am really excited about! When I was searching Trip Advisor for things "to do" in L'Albir, I noticed a Thai Massage Place that had fabulous reviews! I haven't had a great Thai massage for years ... so ... this sounded like a MUST do.

    We decided to scope it out yesterday so I could book an appointment. We followed Google Maps and came upon a Massage Place but it had a different name. I was assuming the place had changed hands ... literally. I booked a 90 minute Traditional Thai massage, but then the lady behind the desk suggested that I would be better to have the Thai Massage with oil. I left there hoping the new hands are as worthy of great reviews as the old ones were.

    We enjoyed our breakfast on the deck and played some 'Clever' and got some groceries and empanadas (for a light meal or snack at some point). After that, I was on my way to my massage!

    There was little English spoken so I wasn't quite sure what to do when I was left behind the curtain with a teensy little black paper thong. She told me to put it on for the massage ... but ... then what? Usually you climb on the massage table and get under a sheet. There was nothing like that. Was I expected to disrobe ... put on the skimpy paper thong and just stand there bare-breasted waiting??

    I was about to wrap the decorative blanket around myself when my tiny little Thai masseuse walked in. She motioned for me lay down face forward on the bed. So I did as I was told. She asked in very broken English if I wanted medium relaxation or strong. I opted for medium relaxation.

    Am I ever glad I didn't say strong. My gawd ... for a little thing she had strong hands. And, she even kicked off her flip flops and climbed up the table to get all her weight behind her.

    I moaned that it was a bit too hard ... a couple of times. It seemed she had her rhythm ... which was not slow, methodical and relaxing ... but rather ... like she had a job to do and needed to be as efficient as possible.

    I adjusted my expectations of what relaxation meant to me versus her. She worked intensely and found all the tight spots. She gave it her best shot but my knots were tighter. She rolled me over ... face up. After she was done with my legs and feet (which was magnificent!) ... she whipped down the decorative cloth I was lying under. Well ... okay then.

    Then, she proceeded to work on my belly. I thought ... reasonable. She is tending to my digestion. I had no idea she was also going to tend to the girls. But, yep. She did so ... and with the same energy and gusto she offered to rest of my body.

    Afterwards, I didn't know what to expect. It turned out that she did an amazing head massage ... rubbing in circles at my temples (one at time) for several minutes each. Then she moved to the rest of my head.

    And after all that ... I expected I was done ... but no. She had me sit up and she went after those knots in my shoulder region again. She got on the table again too. 😂

    The old boy was having a beer at the little bar/cafe next door when I emerged 90 minutes later. He asked how it was and all I could think to say was "I am not really sure!"

    I am glad I had the experience ... but ... it was nothing like I remember the Thai massages being in Thailand. And yet ... I thought maybe all the vigorous rubbing might make my body feel really good later. And, actually ... it does feel pretty good right now. So, I still don't know what to say except that it was anything but relaxing!! 😂 I might have to check for bruising later! 🤣

    We stayed for a glass of wine and a cheese board! It was delicious and just the right snack for my post massage workout! After that, we thought we'd head to the beach for a bit but opted to have another round of Clever instead. I was the winner this time!!

    While I was having my massage, the old boy searched out the best places to have paella here! As you recall, I am still on the hunt for a really good one. He discovered one online called M.Godoy that was awarded "Best Paella 2023" in El Albir by Restaurant Guru.

    And, all we can say is that it was absolutely fabulous ... 14/10 delicious. When we complimented the server, he indicated that Paella originates in Alicante and Valencia provinces so other areas make their own versions. Yes. Yes, they do. And, they don't compare.

    We also had some of the best red wine we have tasted. I asked to take a picture of the bottle but the server indicated that it is not likely sold in the stores. He believes it is just available to restaurants.

    We also had our very first "cortados" and a flan. He called it caramel pudding, so we were expecting something different, but it was good too. He then offered us a house liqueur ... but we declined. It actually seems as though meals are lovely events in Europe ... meant to linger over and enjoy ... rather than just to gulp down and hurry off to the next thing. We have really enjoyed that energy of celebration around food here!

    All in all, our dinner tonight was so good ... and now ... we are ready for another great sleep. Tomorrow will be our last day here in L'Albir. Then we are off to Madrid.

    We are already half done our vacation and were talking over dinner about what stood out for us so far? The list was endless. It was good to reflect upon all the joys we have experienced already! It's easy, when you are on the go, to forget to savor those moments for a while.

    Good night dear family and friends ... we miss you! It would have been so delightful to have had you gathered around our table tonight with us!!
    Love and hugs, k&j ❤️

    P.S. the sun was already hiding behind the mountains by the time we got home from dinner ... but ... the view was still gorgeous! And, the cotton candy reflection on water was pretty!

    .
    Lue lisää