Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    These Boots are Made for Walking...

    February 26, 2021 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 32 °C

    A rest day in Longreach, glad to not have to get in the car today :-) We definitely made the most of the day, and of course there was some more cruiser maintenance to do, replacing a split coil! (It never ends!)
    Caught up with Jayden (Shauns son) and his girlfriend Bridie, who are living out here for his apprenticeship. We got to meet his boss and workmates, what a great bunch of guys. In your life you may only have one or two mentors, Jayden's boss is one of those people for him, we are so so proud of him!

    Now some of you might know how I was desperate for a pair of western boots for my outback adventure, cue Shaun leaving me in town with my credit card alone....the result was the coolest pair of Ariat Western stock man boots you ever did see! My journey is complete lol....I have my eye on a rough rider akubra hat too...hmmmm, but have to save money now!

    Jayden took us around town, we visited "The Station Store" and saw an old cobb and co carriage, and old skool theatre. They do tours and have a paddle steamer that does a dinner tour, definitely worth a visit. https://store.kinnonandco.com.au

    We had an amazing pie from the local bakery, served with amazing country hospitality, everyone is so friendly. If you stop in at Longreach try the "Merino Bakery"https://m.facebook.com/pages/category/Bakery/Me…

    We also visited the "Stockmans Hall of Fame" (which is closed until April) and the "Qantas Museum". Both are big ticket places to visit, so not really our cup of tea.

    Red claw fishing was up next, within 5mins of the pot being in we already had one, this was the first time I really noticed the amount of flies!!! I made the rookie mistake of wearing a skirt...probably not a great idea! I asked "is there crocs in here?" I think I might be saying this a lot! Shaun and Jayden left me in the car with the apparently dead red claw, nope it wasn't, and I might have let it escape...oops...there is one in the freezer that is coming with us though.

    Loved Longreach, but most of all, loved seeing Jayden and Bridie, tomorrow we set off for Mt Isa with a cruiser all good to go!
    Read more