Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 26

    Ahhhh Back to Nature at Last!!!

    March 21, 2021 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 31 °C

    We finally got out and about to explore, and literally 5kms from where we are staying we landed at "The Junction" which is part of the Moondarra Lake water system. A much needed day in nature surrounded by amazing birdlife, including some very friendly hawks. We hung out with some of the cool cats that work in the park and just relaxed....it was amazing!

    The waterway has fresh water crocodiles in it, but we didn't see any, only turtles that came up for a feed of bread. Freshies or not I was getting in! And with great acrobatic finesse I jumped on the rope swing and did a massive back flop into the water! It was hard to remember that we were in the middle of Australia while we sat there, we could have been anywhere coastal, it kinda reminded me of Kinkuna and I felt at home.

    We cooked on the fire and had some delicious salads made by mates from the park and watched the sun go down...amazing sunset!!! Today reminded us what this travelling caper is all about...I can't wait to do some more exploring as I have a Mt Isa bucket list that keeps getting longer. We have started the week on a positive, and every week gets just a little bit easier!

    A huge thank you for reading our stories, it keeps me feeling connected with home, and although they are not very exciting or very well written, I do love sharing our experience with you xxxx

    "Always take the scenic route" (thanks Toni for the shirt xxx)

    Ally and Shaun
    Read more