Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 146–149

    Railay Beach - Rockclimbing and Beaches

    March 7 in Thailand ⋅ ☁️ 32 °C

    It was finally time to head to Thailand's famous beaches. My first stop was the cute little town of Railay Beach. Surrounded by huge limestone rocks, it is only accessible by boat, which adds to its charm.

    I arrived in the evening, and immediately booked a half-day tour to go rock climbing for the next day. Railay Beach is known for rock climbing and since I have never done it before, I thought what better place to do it - you literally go rock climbing on a beach. How cool is that?

    Anyway, before heading off to climb, I woke up early to catch the sunrise at one of Railay's two main beaches and enjoyed the tranquility, peace and early morning atmosphere. Since Railay is a very popular spot for day trips and gets very crowded during the day, the early mornings and late afternoons are the best times to enjoy the place.

    Anyway, shortly after, I got my climbing gear, listened to the instructions and did a little warm up. Then it was time and I have to say, it is not as easy as some people make it look, as I needed to get comfortable to step on tiny rocks for balance or grab them with my fingers to then push myself up with my legs. Once I got comfortable with it, I relatively quickly climbed up and finished the first two climbs without major difficulties (some help from the instructor on where to step helped massively of course).

    One climb was particularly tricky, though, as I had to climb over a little ledge - I didn't manage it in the first few tries, but then ultimately made it.

    After a few more climbs, I was exhausted and my forearms were burning. I didn't realise that rock climbing truly can be a proper workout. It was a lot of fun, though, and something that I definitely wanna do again.

    The rest of my two days on Railay beach I spent watching the sunsets with a few new people I met, going out and enjoy the relaxed nightlife, exploring the little town and yeah, catching another sunrise on the other beach. All in all, I had a really great time here and enjoyed the town and its beaches. It’s a place I would want to come back to.
    Read more