Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    SJPP to Roncesvalles - part 2

    March 26 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 5 °C

    I pushed on - the absolute hubris on me, can you believe! This isn't what my itinerary said! I've dipped my toe into the fast and loose pool and it's nice in here.

    It was important for me to walk on my own today, and I managed to. At one point my hands were so cold I stuffed all my fingers in my mouth for warmth, that probably helped maintain some solitude.

    The route climbed and climbed until I was in the white stuff, which kept getting thicker and was quite frustratingly hard to get grip on, but the novelty outweighed it. I swung wildly between beaming manically (again, probably kept any would-be chats away) and wishing I was in front of a fire eating a steak.

    But I got it done, 27km in just under 7 hours, with breaks. Some quick stats now:

    Slugs avoided stepping on: 55,000.
    Slugs stepped on: 1 .
    Cats seen: 1.
    Cats patted: 0.
    Gear MVP of day: Dad's hanky.
    Gear 'room for improvement': rain jacket pockets waterproofing.
    Lessons learned: pay attention to opportunities to fill drink bottle.
    Read more