Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Can I offer u an egg in this trying time

    April 1 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 5 °C

    The first five kilometres today were ugly and hard. I felt tired, I left Estella without breakfast, and it was all gross industrial estate. At eight kilometres, I was having a much better time, and when the opportunity for breakfast presented itself I grasped it.

    There were two guys working there. One was rushing around excitedly and one was treating me like the camera in a fourth wall break. Every time the other one did something he'd look at me as if to say 'do you see what I have to put up with' but in a good natured way.

    One of these looks came when his mate was bent over a basket of hard boiled eggs, drawing on them - the excited one looked up at me and exclaimed it was the best part of his day, and the other one looked at me, looked at him, and laughed and shook his head.

    When I left, the exasperated one gave me two Easter eggs, for the road. We smiled real big at each other.
    Read more