Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 18

    Burgos to Hontanas - part one

    April 9 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ -1 °C

    A big day of firsts for this tiny trekker!

    1. First day of the Meseta, the plateau between Burgos and Leon.

    2. First blister, a cute little thing on the tip of my second left toe.

    3. First time needing to walk with the USB lid powering my med canister as I haven't had access to a freezer in Burgos for the cold brick.

    4. First 30km+ day on the trail - there have been other days over that but only including post-walk (what I'm calling 'after work') wandering around the town, where as purely albergue to albergue today is 32km.

    The bunks at the municipal in Burgos have completely nuked my back, and I'm honestly shocked I walked nearly 35km all told today. It was not great in the morning, loosened up about the 20km mark, but luckily it was pretty much the best case scenario terrain for the pain - extremely flat and reliable footing.

    I woke up every hour between midnight and three and got up at 3.45am, reading by the light of a vending machine and having my first two of what ended up being a four coffee day. When the doors opened at 6.30am I was off like a hobbled shot, weaving through dark streets to reach frosted fields on the edge of the city. Between the rain yesterday and a cold front overnight, I watched my breath billow and heard my footsteps crunch in the 1 degree stillness.

    I was inspired to listen to the whole Purple Rain album after that bar last night and, I dunno how recently you have, but I must say that When Doves Cry and PR are head and shoulders above the rest of the dross on that record my goodness.
    Read more