Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 23

    Booming

    April 14 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 11 °C

    I am sitting here in utter disbelief at the RUCKUS being caused by, and I'm not generalising here as it's a fact, men between 50 and 65. This albergue has three upstairs rooms but it's a loft style roof, meaning the walls don't go up all the way, there's a gap and we all share airspace.

    I have the bunk withdrawal process down to an absolute minimum in terms of time and decibels. I come to the communal area (and if there is none, outside) and do my dressing and deodorising and repacking and zipping there. It's surprising how much variation there is in the rush hour albergue by albergue, some you don't hear anyone move until 7, others are earlier.

    I was downstairs by 5.30, joined by another decent human being at 5.45 and then from 6 I actually don't think I could have made more noise than these BEASTS are making upstairs if I tried. One of them dropped his stick, clattering down the bunk ladder as it fell, twice. I'd have killed myself after the first time so that completely blew my mind.

    I'm waiting until my phone gets to 70% (because naturally they hogged the two chargers per room upstairs) then I will walk around giving each of them a sharp poke in the ribs, turn and glare at them at the threshold, put my nose in the air and storm off.
    Read more