Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 28

    Foncebadon to Ponferrada - part three

    April 19 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 20 °C

    I'm staying in a donation based albergue tonight, the last (top bunk) bed in the female only section which is for the best given my shower rod packed it in mid rinse and I'm sick of men again.

    The German couple that joined me in that odd ranch are here, really leaning into the stereotypes. Wrapping up our conversation as I waited to check in, she was going to the supermarket, so I said 'enjoy' as a synonym for bye and she paused for a long time, gave me a strange look, and insisted there was nothing about it to enjoy, they just had to eat.

    Woman, my knees hurt, I am covered in dried salt, my lips are tight. I could not care if you live or die, have a terrible time then and go away. I've just seen them at dinner and they've given me a big wave. Must be very freeing to be that straight up and down. Picked a table outside to avoid them and am currently getting roasted alive, when the sun moves down a scooch it'll be lovely but I might be dead by then.

    I came to this restaurant because it was recommended by the hospitalero, it's run by an ex-pilgrim so concerned by the lack of nutritious options available to us that he figured he'd do something about it. The menu is completely different to what was at the albergue and when I ordered I was told that's not possible but we have cordon bleu...or cordon bleu with asparagus! I smiled and handed back the menu I'm not sure why I was given in the first place, and eagerly await my cordon bleu with asparagus.

    Christ the Germans have just came out saying the cook is off but the guy hopes he'll come back, and walked away. The waitress has come running out after them and convinced them to come back. I'll pop this meal in the 'good for the plot' category I reckon. A guy with shopping bags did just walk in. Can he move the sun? I'm not bothered, some food will turn up eventually.
    Read more