Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 41

    I am now slightly less thin

    May 2 in Portugal ⋅ ⛅ 15 °C

    A Francesinha, Google will tell you if you ask nicely, is a sandwich that originated in Porto that involves layers of toasted bread and hot meats like steak, ham, and varieties of sausage. It's topped with (a fried egg if fancy and) sliced cheese, which is "melted by the ladling of a near-boiling tomato-and-beer sauce" and usually served with chips. I really enjoy the phrasing there so I've kept it as a direct quote. It's also the reason I don't need dinner tonight. Very delicious, probably a sometimes food though.

    By divine design (all that Camino karma) I managed to pick what I later learned is a good restaurant by complete accident, and by virtue of being alone, get a table without a reservation. Afterwards, I sat on the bench outside to which the wifi reached, and watched cars attempt to navigate a shockingly sharp tight turn.

    Well actually it's not the turns fault - it was there first and bicycles and horses would have handled it just fine. My favourite was the guy who, at very slow speed, completely missed and rammed the wall of the building and immediately tooted the horn, as if the building should have moved.
    Read more