Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Adiós Pedasí (especially the frog!)

    December 27, 2020 in Panama ⋅ ⛅ 82 °F

    Donny’s been doing such a great job chronicling our Panamanian adventure! Here are a few other highlights (sorry no accompanying pics... been trying to put down the phone as much as possible ☺️):

    🐸 As we tended to the barbecue on Christmas evening (well, Donny tended to it while I swayed away in the nearby hammock keeping him
    company and making sure the wine was safe to drink 😬), I was sent indoors to get a plate. Fortunately the light over the front step was on to illuminate the absolutely GIGANTIC frog sitting on our front step!
    Up to this point, I had been blissfully obtuse (self-delusional?) about the possibility of my least favorite fauna (amphibians + reptiles) invading our little Earth House, other than the requisite geckos 🦎 that I’ve learned to live with because they stay mostly out of sight.

    I yelped, shouted for Donny to come to my rescue, then yelped again when he shooed it away from the door and it hopped in my general direction. I climbed up on a nearby chair like a total crazy person, until the frog was a safe distance away on the yard (but I still kept an eye on the f**ker).

    The best part? Less than a minute later, our host Luis came out of his house carrying a positively huge machete, asking if it was a snake and I had to admit that it was just a frog and that I’m afraid of them. 🤦‍♀️ Then it occurred to me, wait, how big and/or dangerous are the snakes around here?!?!? 😱
    Read more