Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    The Lazy Song

    June 15, 2018 in Thailand ⋅ ⛅ 91 °F

    Today's theme is Bruno Mars's "The Lazy Song" (https://g.co/kgs/h9s4bh).

    Up at exactly 0345 again, dammit. Down the pub for another English breakfast, even though I passed up some awesome looking Thai grub from the sidewalk carts along the way. Thought about going to another temple on the other side of the river. Nah. Thought about going to one of the many floating markets. Nah. Thought about a lot of things. Nah.

    "Today I don't feel like doing anything
    I just wanna lay in my bed
    Don't feel like picking up my phone
    So leave a message at the tone
    'Cause today I swear I'm not doing anything"

    Today's theme may be lazing around, but the Hash's theme last night was "don't fall in the klong" (canal). They're not all as disgusting as the one pictured below, but still. I wish I could post a smell for you. You think you know. You. Do. Not. And things live in there. Big things that make big splashes. Despite the fear of agonizing death by klong, it was great fun with great people and another 8 km under my poor, tired, blistered feet.

    There's no hash tonight; only a dinner/drinking practice a few subway stops away. I think I'll take a nap first.

    Oh, about the toilet pic. You don't flush toilet paper here. In fact, many public restrooms don't even have paper. You use the hose hanging by the comode or squat pan to rinse your bits. The paper is just for drying and goes in the waste bin. But I found this Japanese- style comode, complete with bidet, in a shopping mall. Sooo much better than a hose.

    Off for a nap. Out for now. ✌️
    Read more