Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    The Grand Palace & Emerald Buddha

    June 14, 2018 in Thailand ⋅ ⛅ 91 °F

    I woke up early again this morning (0345-ish), but actually got out of bed before 0900 (0745). I took the underground to Hua Lamphong station, then walked down to the river. For 15 Baht (50¢ USD), I hopped a ferry up the Chain Phraya River to the Grand Palace.

    In the temple inside the grounds, the small but magnificent Emerald Buddha sits high atop his golden pedestal. Photos are not allowed of him, but I did get some of the grounds and stunning buildings. [The two pics of him below are from Google.]

    As I was trying to get to the exit, the crowd simply stopped, packed in--yes, I'll use it--like sardines. Apparently (if the signs on the Mercedes limos were any indication), a very high-ranking Myanmar official (President?) came by with what may have been the Thai Queen. Not sure, but once they passed, I was swept out with all the other bodies. Luckily, we were all headed in the same direction.

    I'm headed back towards the hotel to pick up my laundry (100 THB per kilogram) and find a restaurant with air con. And beer. I'm parched 😌.

    Out for now. ✌️
    Read more