Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Chiang Mai via Overnight Train

    June 17, 2018 in Thailand ⋅ ⛅ 79 °F

    What a great way to travel! I took the overnight train from Bangkok to Chiang Mai. It was like sleeping on a padded board (I think that's actually what it was), but about the price of a decent but not spendy hotel room (30 USD-ish), for which I got room and transportation. Before and after pics of the bunks are below.

    It took forever just to get out of Bangkok last night, but this morning, coming into the Chiang Mai area, was beautiful. The road by the train track was lined with huge elephant ear plants with gigantic white blooms and wild groves of banana trees. I also caught a fleeting glimpse of a huge golden Buddha resting atop his hillside perch.

    After checking into my lodging, I've been walking the Old City taking lots and lots of pictures of Buddha and his numerous temples. There are so many, including the one pictured below, 15th century Wat Chedi Luang.

    Now, a bite to eat with an iced Tiger beer next to the Old City wall. Life is very good.

    Out for now. ✌️
    Read more