Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    135cc to Doi Suthet

    June 18, 2018 in Thailand ⋅ ⛅ 79 °F

    Good day, Monday!! This is how Mondays are supposed to be! Up around 6 am to call my dad for Father's Day, then up and at 'em. A very light breakfast of sticky rice with a warm coconut cream topping (yummy) and the most delicious, fresh mango I have ever had. I don't think I'll ever be able to eat "fresh" mango in the States again.

    The traffic in Chiang Mai is significantly simpler to navigate than that in Bangkok, so I rented a 135cc scooter and made my way to the top of Doi Suthet, upon which stands one of the most important temples in Thailand and a palace. I am sitting in the palace garden now, after having a light lunch by the temple: a small piece of grilled pork on a stick, a Thai sausage on a stick, and a cup of hot corn cut off the cob and mixed with about a tablespoon of white sugar. So very yummy!

    (The bathroom pic is what I had to deal with after lunch. I'm still not quite sure how that's supposed to work without completely stripping. I did my best, but don't ask.)

    Yesterday, I hit the Hard Rock Cafe, which was disappointing, but not surprisingly so. I also got a sakyant tattoo by the traditional bamboo method. It was so much better than the machine! I almost fell asleep except for the occasional pinprick shooting up my neck. And it's already healed. No plastic wrap, no ointment. Amazing!

    After that adventure, there was a night market stretching almost all the way across the Old City on the main road (Rachadamnoen). It was cool, but there were too many people shoulder to shoulder for me, so I ducked out to an outdoor cafe to have a beer and gyoza (super great!) while listening to a pretty good band.

    My battery is running low, and I've so much more to do today, so out for now. ✌️
    Read more