Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    Sometimes a lack of planning is bad

    June 19, 2018 in Thailand ⋅ ⛅ 90 °F

    Here I sit at a shopping mall in Lamphang, about 100 km southeast of Chiang Mai. On a 125cc scooter, that was a long, hard ride, and I am not looking forward to the return trip. All highway and hot.

    I had "planned" to go to the Elephant Conservation Center, about 30 km before you get to Lamphang, but I forgot to stop at a currency exchange before I left the tourist area. Off I went with about 5 bucks in cash. Dummy. Not half enough for a ticket much less gas.

    So, I rode the rest of the way into the city and found this shopping mall, which was sure to have an ATM, and it did. A quick bite at McDonald's (you can pick either beef or pork for your burger meat) and I'm back to Chiang Mai...after I hit the Esso station I saw on the way in now that I can pay for gas. The elephants will have to wait for another day.

    Out for now. ✌️

    P.S.: Update on my dumbassery. I wore my convertible shorts so I could make them into pants if I needed, such as for going inside temples. However, I left the zip-on legs at the hotel, so now the tops of my thighs are sunburnt. 🤦
    Read more