Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 128

    Fast boat to Sibu

    October 9, 2018 in Malaysia ⋅ 🌧 84 °F

    I'm on a boat to Sibu. Not really sure "fast" is an accurate description, but it's waaaay faster than the Slow Boat to Laos I took on 3-4 July. (Wow. Has it been that long already?) The beginning of today's trip was on the ocean until we turned upriver. Despite the clouds and sprinkles, the waves were okay and I fell asleep about 20 minutes after we left port.

    I thank my parents for my ability to fall asleep in moving vehicles--all of them. As the story goes, when I couldn't/wouldn't sleep as a kid, my dad would put me in the car and drive around until I was out. It worked then and it stuck with me. My ex-husband used to gripe because I would fall asleep during the 10-minute work commute, and my Airmen laughed when I slept through a C-130 combat landing in Iraq. Now, I'm out on a boat in the South China Sea off the coast of Borneo. Awesome.

    Nothing else to tell you today. Let's see what sleepy, small Sibu has to offer this evening.

    So long [for now] and thanks for all the fish. ✌️
    Read more