Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 129

    Sleepy, small Sibu is correct

    October 10, 2018 in Malaysia ⋅ 🌧 88 °F

    This is a pretty small city, although it's large for this area. Yesterday, almost immediately after arriving, I bought a bus ticket to Miri for tomorrow morning.

    Last night I went to the Night Market, which was full of amazing smelling foods, like chicken/pork/seafood chunks on sticks, Chukaman (as called in Japan, which is white puffy deliciousness filled with various stuff), yogurt/fruit desserts, and canned beer. There were also stalls with clothes, toys, etc., but the food is always the best to look at and to smell.

    Today, I walked around the Taoist temple. Right on the water and.visible for quite some ways. Neat. The giant turtle made me think of Stephen King's "Dark Tower" series and other books:

    "See the turtle of enormous girth!
    On his shell he holds the earth.
    His thought is slow but always kind;
    He holds us all within his mind.
    On his back all vows are made;
    He sees the truth but may'nt aid.
    He loves the land and loves the sea,
    He even loves a child like me."

    Right now, I'm at the Central Market eating a lunch of a pork roll (weird, not great) and semi-sweet, sticky rice rolled in leaves (okay). I have a feeling I will be visiting Pizza Hut later, this time for a nice big fresh salad (the pizza is really good though 😉).

    So long [for now] and thanks for all the fish. ✌️
    Read more