Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 177

    Great Eastern Drive

    November 27, 2018 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 63 °F

    The past 24 hours have been amazing! After I finished shopping, I drove to Eaglehawk Neck to see the Tessellated Pavement, former prison, Blow Hole, Tasman Arch, and Devils Kitchen.

    Then I stopped at Tasmanian Devil Unzoo where I saw, yes, a Devil, plus kangaroos, golden possum, frog mouth owls, cape barren geese, and more.

    A little further south took me to Maingon Bay Lookout and Remarkable Cave.

    I ended the evening tourism with a visit to UNESCO World Heritage Site Port Arthur Historic Site (https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Port_Arthur,_Ta…)
    Really cool.

    After all of that, I began driving north. The car's navigation system said to do a very out-of-the-way loop almost taking me back to Hobart. Google Maps showed a cut through almost due north. Once I got going on Google's route, I understood why the car said to go around. Dirt roads.

    But what an amazing drive! Kangaroo were everywhere...they are soooo fast! I finally saw a kookaburra, albeit a brief glimpse. I made it back to the main road, then pulled over to sleep in a tourist information area in Orford.

    I woke up to the loudest birds I've ever heard at 5 in the morning, so I ate some fruit and hit the road, still northbound on the Great Eastern Drive.

    This morning I went to Freycinet National Park where I visited Cape Tourville Lighthouse and Honeymoon Bay. The lookout view of Wineglass Bay at the top of the mountain was a bit far to walk in the damp and rain, so I left it for another trip. As I was walking around the Visitor Center before it opened, I happened upon the little red-neck wallaby in the picture. So cute!! I saw several others throughout the park, including three with joeys.

    Now, I'm stopped at the beach by Four Mile Creek. I'm still heading north and not sure where I'll wind up, but it's great fun so far!!!

    So long [for now] and thanks for all the WALLABIES. ✌️
    Read more