Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 178

    Pod Inn

    November 28, 2018 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 66 °F

    Amazing! I'll type more later.

    It's later. I continued my drive north on the Great Eastern Highway, stopping at, to name a few places, Peron Dunes, Bay of Fire, and Eddystone Point Lighthouse, the latter of which is where is spent the night...in the car...again. I had dinner while watching a magnificent sunset and woke to a beautiful albeit early sunrise.

    Despite my best efforts with baby wipes, after three days of public toilets by boatramps and two nights of sleeping in the car, I need a shower. So, I decided to drive by most of the small tourist traps along the A3 and head directly to Launceston, the second largest city in Tazzy (after all the gravel, dirt, and mud roads I've been down in a not-four-wheel-drive Toyota Aurion, I think it's the only other city besides Hobart).

    I found Pod Inn on Agoda (great app!). For only 25 Aussie dollars a night. Compared to well over 100 at other places, this is a great bargain, so I booked two nights.

    This place is brand new and really cool. The pods are from Japan. I've seen pics from my friends staying at pods in Tokyo, but I didn't have the chance to stay in one...until now! So very cool. Tomorrow's post may have more pics. Right now I have to go sort out the metered parking.

    So long [for now] and thanks for all the fish. ✌️

    P.S.: Pods are pretty much like fully-enclosed bunk beds with internal lighting and a locking door. You'll see.
    Read more