Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 241

    On On to Nelson!

    January 30, 2019 in New Zealand

    Yesterday, Planks, Helen and I were all falling asleep in the van, so we stopped for a quick dip by Pelorus Bridge. The water was cool and clear. Gorgeous!

    We had a great time hashing yesterday. No sooner than we arrived at the hash campground, we were off on trail. Circle was held in their restored barn that is now a bar, media center, love me wall (owners Toy Boy and Wendy were both military), and bunk house (upstairs). Amazing place! I went to my little cabin after midnight and the party was still in full swing.

    We were up this morning around 0730 and in search of breakfast. By the time everyone was conscious and fed--around 1100 😁--eight of us took off in two cars to walk around Wharariki Beach and Cape Farewell. We're on our way there now. I'm in the car with an Aussie who lives in NZ (Emphazema), a Kiwi who lives in Aussie (Soak), and a Brit who lives in NZ (Sniffer). Too funny!!!

    Today's destination is Nelson, and I'm driving a broken hasher's camper van until next week. Another adventure!

    So long [for now] and thanks for all the fish. ✌️

    P.S.: On 28 March 2019, I discovered that Pelorus Bridge was another Lord of the Rings film locations, this time for when the hobbits went down the rapids. Cool.
    Read more