Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 299

    Abel Tasman National Park

    March 29, 2019 in New Zealand ⋅ ⛅ 63 °F

    Yesterday, I caught the Stray bus from Picton to Marahau on the edge of Abel Tasman National Park. Other than a brief stop at a winery for a tasting and a grocery shopping adventure, we drove straight through. We all pitched in for dinner, dicing and slicing chicken, onions, mushrooms, and bell peppers for wraps. Yummy. It was an early night for me because I had to be up around 7. I made it to 6 to the chagrin of my five roommates.

    At 8 I was picked up by a company for a full-day kayak and hike trip. We kayaked north along the coast for 2.5 hours, delighting in the plentiful bird life (mainly terns dive bombing the water for fish) and the noisy five-month-old sea lion pups. Adorable!

    We're having lunch on the beach now and have been ambushed by a Weka, a flightless native bird that I call a Kiwi chicken. Apparently people feed them (a huge no no), so this one's come out of the bush to try for a handout. Cute and brazen, but there's nothing to be had from us. I'm dreading yet eager for my walk back to the campground/hostel. The guide Louisa says it's 10 kilometers/6 miles. Yikes!

    So long [for now] and thanks for all the fish. ✌️
    Read more