Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 300

    Wheels on the Bus Go Round and Round

    March 30, 2019 in New Zealand ⋅ ⛅ 70 °F

    After lunch yesterday, I did indeed make the long trek back to the hostel. 9.3 kilometers according to the signs (5.7 miles). Except for the first 500 meters straight up from the beach to the trail, it was pretty flat, and the path was terrific. I could hear the waves crashing below and was accompanied by birdsong the entire way. I also ran into another couple of wekas scouting the trail for either insects or handouts, maybe both. The end/start of the trail is marked by a beautifully carved Maori Arch.

    The next morning was an early one, leaving the campground at 07:00. We were sent off by a gorgeous sunrise, although my pictures from inside the bus don't do it justice.

    We stopped in Motueka for coffee, where I found this little Morris truck. The coffee stand lady said her father restored it, and it has now passed down to her. Too lovely.

    Now, we're on our way to Franz Josef for glacier hiking and hot springs. I hope they have some cold weather clothing I can borrow!

    So long [for now] and thanks for all the fish. ✌️
    Read more